Come Together - Jessica Hawkins Title: Come Together

Series: The Cityscape Series Book #3

Author: Jessica Hawkins

Genre: Literature/Fiction (Adult), Romance

Blurb: With a single decision, Olivia Germaine’s fantasy has become a reality. Now she is faced with two commitments: one she must make and one she must break. But in order to accept a love she never thought possible, Olivia will have to let go of the broken past that defines her - and of deeply-rooted fears that could ruin everything.
Everything is what David Dylan wants to give her, and it’s what he wants in return. He must prove to Olivia that despite his playboy ways, he’s worth leaving behind the stable future her husband can offer her. David is a man who always gets what he wants . . . but this time he may be fighting for something unattainable.
Can Olivia escape the past that threatens to consume her?
And can David break through to her before it does?

Thoughts: I have to say, it's not like me to rave over a series - but I can't seem to help it when it comes to this one! I absolutely love everything about these books. For those of you unfamiliar with the series, I definitely recommend reading the prior two books first - there is simply no other way to delve into the complex situation going on, or to understand what the characters are going through or experiencing. But bear in mind that the book is about a affair that takes place outside Olivia's marriage. And while they do try to fight their feelings for each other, if this is a hot button topic for you - you'll want to give this series a pass. But if you're looking for a book that steps outside the norm, that pushes some boundaries, that makes you look at things from a different perspective, then look no further!

The way the author portrays the emotions of the characters is simply outstanding, and I have to admit that this last one exceeded my expectations. Hawkins doesn't take the easy way out - she deals with all the complex emotions that these characters are going through. And no one moves on pretending an affair never happened, or that life is nothing but a happily ever after tale with no gut-wrenching emotions involved. Choices are -and have been -made. And friends are lost due to them.

There are also other topics in the book that are tackled in this one, namely Olivia and her feelings regarding parenthood. And again, I praise Hawkins for tackling it and really letting you see the core emotions of these characters - and for not always taking the path typically found in other books.

Needless to say, by the time you get done with this series, your emotions will feel as if they have gone through the wringer. But it is so worth it! And you may come out of the experience with your eyes opened to a whole new perspective.

My ONLY complaint about this one is that it is the last of the series...:( But it couldn't have went out any better. A+ for sure. I know this whole series has become a personal favorite of mine.

Rate: A+
Review by: Sarah